Posted by: shyflutterby | April 23, 2012

Time for School!!!

It’s here in a blink of an eye!! 5 years ago, I was holding and caring for my little 4 month old bundle. I loved her, but didn’t enjoy her. Two months later I would throw her on my bed and realize at that second I was sick. Now, for the soul purpose of defending myself. She was dropped on the bed with less then a foot between the bed and her butt. She didn’t get hurt, and actually started laughing once she landed. I think it was what started her love of jumping on and off high places, AND it was an event that needed to take place in order for me to seek the help I needed badly. Otherwise, something far worse would have happened. ANYWAY!!!!!!

Bug starts school this fall. I’ve been searching for the perfect school for 2 years now. I’ve researched our local school district. IT’s HORRIBLE!! 2nd lowest in the state. I researched homeschooling, I just can’t harbor her from the joys of school, and friends. Not to mention I ask her to tell me the ABC’s and she intentionally say them wrong, but someone else asks and she will recite them and tell them the phonic’s sound. At least I know she listens when I do them for her LOL. Chances are homeschooling would end up a total bust because I would give up on trying to get the right answer out of her. So, I started looking into private schools. I can get funding through grants and scholarships as well as hardship cases since I have no income. I really wanted to send her to this one Christian school that is just down the road from us. They seem like such a great school, the people looked nice, the kids looked happy, and she would be get a Christ centered education. What more could a person ask for?!?!?! Well, I had been pressing Grams to take us to the school to take a tour and to apply so I could start the application process for all the grants and scholarships. Then on Friday I was finally able to get her to set a time for us to go.  I went to bed Thursday night saying a prayer asking for smooth sailing through the process IF that was where he wanted Bug to be.  I wake up Friday 2 hours late, I throw on an nice outfit, Try and wake up Bug and get her not wanting to get out of bed. So, not even 20 mins into the day and I’ve hit  2 issues. I’m late, and now my always eager to get up Bug is not wanting to get up……..THEN get Pops up only to have him wanting to do this and that and dilly dally while I’m in a hurry to get him settled and fed. Issue 3. I start making everyone’s breakfast, when I drop everyone’s food on the floor. Issue 4. Then in the middle of making everyone’s breakfast a 2nd time the phone rings…..”hello?!”  It’s my sister…….”I’m so sorry I forgot to tell you! Pops’ case worker is going to be there in an hour for an interview and paper work!”………….issue 5-10. “I’m not going to be here!!!!!” Sister…”no worries I will call and cancel it.”   I know how this works there is no cancelling these things. My house is filthy, Bugs father is coming to get her and she has no clean clothes, her bags not packed, my dishes are dirty, Pops bathroom and bedroom SMELL horribly because of his dilly dally!! Toys are thrown through out the living room and dining room. AND my mom is about to knock on the door to take us to the School. I’d say that’s a pretty good sign that God doesn’t want her in that school. Soo, I run franticly through the house, cleaning this and that, starting a load of Bug only clothes, Spraying febrezze with almost ever step. Dictating chores to Bug to have her clean up her fair share of the mess while still preparing the 2nd breakfast for everyone. Bug and Pops sit and enjoy their food while I throw dishes in the dish washer, scrub counters and sinks, make beds, Spray some more Febrezze, Answer the phone again to be told what I already know…”there’s no way to cancel this meeting. I can come over so you can go do what you need to do.”  Grams shows up minutes after I hang up. I tell her our plans our cancelled. Explain why, then sit on the patio and contimplate “WHERE IS BUG GOING TO GO TO SCHOOL!!!!!!”

So…..I’ve passed all the deadlines for enrolling her into almost all my other options. Doesn’t mean I still can’t do them. It just means I have to re-think those options. This time without the Christian school. I’m so frustrated, and worried about this. My limits of where she can go are very restrictive because of transportation. I have none. City bus is my only way. And I don’t know about where you live but here. Buses go by high schools not Elementary schools. Those are buried deep in the neighborhoods. Close to the homes, of the students that go there, and if by chance that child lives more then 2 miles from the school they send a cute yellow school bus to get them and drop them off. If only I lived across the street where the school district is different. the 3rd best in the metro area. Where I went to school. Just across the street where the nursing home is……..yup those old people sure do need that Good Elementary school education compared to this Condo complex with about 15 young kids, and even more older ones. It’s not even a big street!! it’s a side street! Just move the cut off one street to the west and I’d been a VERY happy mom! We could WALK to that school it’s so close! But NOOOOO our assigned school is more then 4 miles from us. She would have to take the bus to “her” school.

Needless to say, I’m not at all worried about her education. 😉 And to think 5 years ago, I didn’t like her.

Leave a Reply

Categories

